General Meeting Passes Important Bylaws Changes

On 10 Sep members of the Libertarian Party of Okaloosa County met at the LaRumba Restaurant in Niceville and passed reforms to allow for non-scheduled officer elections, and for the first time to allow proxy and absentee voting.

The meeting was attended by a small group of local libertarians. Jeff Bullard, the only remaining member of the LPOC executive committee and parliamentarian for the Florida Tattoo Artists Guild, acted as moderator.

The election reforms were proposed by candidate for LPOC Chairman Pete Blome. They are intended to resolve an impasse in party procedure that did not consider an executive committee unable to form a quorum and the resignation of the Chairman. The Chairman is the only person, according to the bylaws, who can appoint new officers. Appointees must also be approved by majority vote of the remaining executive committee officers .

Additional changes allowed Okaloosa Libertarians to vote via proxy or absentee vote. Okaloosa Libertarians were required to vote in person for elections and general meetings.

Jeff Bullard proposed to hold new elections 8 October 2009, in accordance with the newly passed bylaws, which was then unanimously passed.

At the conclusion of the meeting Pete Blome announced a slate of candidates for LPOC party Officers to include himself for Chairman, Ben Jurgens for Vice-Chairman, Jeff Bullard for Treasurer, and Steve Copus for Secretary.

Any registered Okaloosa Libertarian can run for party office or vote in an election, non-scheduled election, or general meeting.

The New Constitution, Bylaws, and Standing Rules of the LPOC can be viewed in the downloads section of the LPOC website.